Making The Good Life

It's not what you have, but how you live.

Au Naturel

My role model!

My role model!

I seem to be in the process of letting my hair return to its natural state. It wasn’t an intentional thing, and it isn’t without misgivings that I go down this path.

My hair is a dark blonde color – I found the photographs from 17 years ago to prove it. When I was a child it was lighter because of all the time I spent outdoors. Somewhere in the last 17 years I began to color my hair. First a few highlights, then a little more, then one day I was a redhead! Four years later I got the red out and began to be a “real” blonde. Every six to eight weeks, touching up the roots so that the increasingly dark roots and gray wouldn’t show. Over the years, damage happened and possibly a sensitivity to the chemicals. My hair fell out every time I colored – enough that it started to worry me. Women my age have enough trouble keeping their hair without bad reactions to hair dye.

I’ve experimented with less chemical-intensive concoctions but none are really satisfactory. So I have stopped. I haven’t put anything on my hair since late last year. I had it cut to my shoulders from halfway down my back a couple of weeks ago to get rid of the lightest, most damaged lengths.

I think I like it. Not so much the hair color, or the gray (I admit that I really liked that shade of light blonde!) but the process of beginning to look more like my real self. Stepping off the treadmill of faking it and onto the path of acknowledging and accepting who I really am today. Not giving up but hopefully walking a path to a healthier self-image and a more balanced approach to the rest of my life.

I’ll keep you posted.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Au Naturel

  1. I think Helen Mirren looks great, but I would imagine she has a lot of help to get her hair that colour. I wish mine would go white. My mother is mouse, but I have an aunt with white hair…here’s hoping.

    • I agree, she probably does. After all, image is her business to a point. Not sure what mine is going to look like but it won’t be as pretty as hers for a long time, if ever!

  2. Lydia on said:

    I often wish for the fortitude to let my hair be itself. My natural color is black, but I’ve had threads of white since age 19. Now at 48, I color it but the white stripe along the part returns after just two weeks (I use a natural product from Whole Foods which helps mitigate the fall out). Despite the fact that I working independently, my image is a complex issue for me. I don’t think I am quite ready to let go of whatever youthful effect the color has. If you are ever casting about for inspiration on what to write, I’d be interested to know more about how your feelings about walking along a natural path are evolving.

    • Lydia, what do you use? While I’m not planning on going back to permanent hair color, I wouldn’t mind something temporary to help blur the lines between the old light color and the darker natural color. There’s such a distinct difference between the two! It might help me get through the growing out process. I’ve been thinking of asking my hairdresser for some kind of help as well.

      I understand what you mean about your image being a complex issue. It is for me as well, and I do plan to come back to it in a future post. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

